What brought you here?

From a young age I had always been interested in film. Every weekend I found myself at the cinema watching films of all genres and then later that night, watching the behind the scenes to try and get an insight into how the magic was created. All throughout high school I found myself participating in media classes which really allowed me to realise that I wanted to be a part of the film industry one way or another. To begin entry into this industry, I studied a diploma of screen and media which only proved to me more, my enthusiasm for the industry. My interests to study a Bachelor in Film sparked majorly after the initial viewing of Alejandro G. Inarritu’s release of ‘The Revenant’ (2015). Emmanuel Lubezki’s role in this film was Director of Photography. Lubezki’s creative use of natural lighting, wide angle shots and continuous (Long timeframe) shots created a sense of beauty that left me breathless. Lubezki’s use of 12 – 24mm (Bill Desowitz, 2015) lenses truly left me in awe as the creative genius truly understood how to transport the viewer into the story. I felt like I was part of the vision not just an observer of the screen. After viewing the techniques Lubezki used whilst behind the camera, to create a clean, professional film that brings a beautiful picture to the screen. I would like to use these same techniques to bring my own beauty to the screen.

Leave a Reply

